top of page

Our Trustees

Our Team Members

Our Board of Trustees are dedicated professionals who gift their time and range of expertise to ensure the highest quality of governance for AMRF.

Richard Taylor is a partner in TGT Legal (Barristers & Solicitors). He specialises in trust law, personal asset and succession planning, relationship property issues, estates and charitable trusts. He was appointed to the Board of AMRF in 2004. He is a trustee of the Halberg Foundation.

Richard Taylor

President, BCom, LLB


Dr Anna King is a clinical nurse, with over a decade of experience in academic research and lecturing at The University of Auckland. Her expertise includes clinical skills teaching and Older Person’s Health and she has published widely in the field of gerontology. As a board member of the Goodfellow Foundation, Anna supports the Goodfellow Unit’s educational and development programmes for primary healthcare professionals. She is Portfolio Manager - Practice Services at ProCare, an Auckland health care cooperative. She joined the board of AMRF in September 2021 and brings a range of skills and experience to help advance the AMRF vision of improving the health and quality of life for all New Zealanders.

Dr Anna King

Vice President, BNurs (Hons), RN, PhD


Katie Noble is the Managing Director of Allied Medical Limited providing assistive technology and rehabilitation equipment to New Zealand. She has held additional governance roles in commercial, government and non-profit organisations, including Yes Disability Resource Centre Trust, Make-a-Wish New Zealand, Muscular Dystrophy Northern, Lotteries Auckland Community Distribution Committee and Sunderland School Property Ltd. She joined the board of AMRF in September 2021. With her energetic style of leadership, Katie contributes her expertise in organizational culture, people and sales and marketing to help make New Zealand a better place for us all no matter what our background or ability.

Katie Noble

Vice President


Professor Larry Chamley is Head of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, at the University of Auckland where he heads a research group studying the biology and immunology of reproduction. He is also the Director of the Hub for Extracellular Vesicles (HEVI) at The University of Auckland and is a member of the Council of the International Society for Immunology of Reproduction. He is the Editor of Trophoblast Research, an Associate Editor of Reproduction and Chair of the Publications Committee of the American Society for Reproductive Immunology. Larry has been Co-Deputy Chair of our Medical Committee since 2021 and was appointed to our Board in December 2022.

Professor Larry Chamley

Chair of the AMRF Medical Committee, BSc (Waikato) MSc, PhD (Auckland), FSRB


Peter Goodfellow is Executive Chairman of Lock Finance. He was appointed to the Board of Auckland Medical Research Foundation in 2007. He has previously practised law and was Chairman XS Corporation Ltd. Peter was the President of the New Zealand National Party from 2009 to 2022.

Peter Goodfellow



James Grey is an investment and wealth management professional, specialising in portfolio and risk management, and has worked at JMI Wealth since 2012. He holds a Bachelor of Business degree with a double major in finance and economics and is a Financial Advisor. He is a passionate advocate for improving financial literacy nationwide and strongly believes in giving back to the community. He completed the Te Whare Hukahuka programme (Ka eke Poutama – Māori Governance) and has iwi affiliations with Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei, Te Rarawa, Ngāti Kurī and Te Aupōuri. James is married with two children and in his spare time is undertaking a Master of Actuarial Science. James was appointed to the board of AMRF in June 2022.

James Grey

B Bus


Associate Professor Vanessa Selak is a Public Health Physician and Senior Lecturer in the Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics at the University of Auckland. Vanessa has 15 years’ experience working in hospital-based clinical, funding, planning and quality roles. She is the Director of the Bachelor of Health Sciences (Honours) Programme and provides postgraduate training in health data analytics and quality improvement. Her research uses routinely collected electronic data to support clinical service improvement, primarily within the field of cardiology. Most recently, Vanessa has led the development of a bleeding prognostic model and individualised benefit harm calculator to guide the use of aspirin in the primary prevention of cardiovascular disease. Vanessa was appointed as Co-Deputy Chair of our Medical Committee in December 2022 and we were delighted to have Vanessa join our Board at the same time.

Associate Professor Vanessa Selak

Co-Deputy Chair of the AMRF Medical Committee, MBChB (Otago), MPH (Auckland), FAFPHM, FNZCPHM, PhD (Auckland)


Prof Peter Thorne has a joint appointment in the Section of Audiology and Department of Physiology at the University of Auckland. He is a Deputy Director of the University’s Centre for Brain Research and is on the Management Directorate of Brain Research New Zealand, a national Centre of Research Excellence. He completed his PhD at the University of Auckland and post-doctoral studies at the University of Auckland and at the Kresge Hearing Research Institute, University of Michigan. His research is in the area of sensory neurobiology particularly inner ear homeostasis and the influence of noise exposure and aging on hearing. He is the Chairman of the National Foundation for the Deaf and is on the Board of the Deafness Research Foundation. In 2009, he was made a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit (CNZM) for services to audiology and auditory neuroscience.

Professor Peter Thorne

CNZM, BSc, DipSc, PhD


Douglas was the Chairman of Amalgamated Dairies Ltd and a number of other private companies. He was a former Chairman of Sanford Ltd, Deputy Chairman of Fernz Corporation Ltd (now Nufarm Ltd) and a former Chairman of Cambridge Clothing Co Ltd and Refrigeration Engineering Ltd. He was a former trustee of various charitable organisations, including those in medical research and education. He was awarded an Honorary Doctor of Law by the University of Auckland and was an Honorary Fellow of the Royal New Zealand College of General Practitioners. Douglas Goodfellow was on the Board of the Auckland Medical Research Foundation from 1978 – 2008.

Douglas Goodfellow

OBE AMRF Patron 1955-2014

bottom of page