Our Medical Committee

Professor Trevor Sherwin

  • 04 Apr 2015
Trevor Sherwin

BSc, PhD

Trevor Sherwin gained a PhD in Cell Biology from the University of Kent at Canterbury, UK, in 1989.  He took up an academic position at the University of Manchester where he specialised in molecular parasitology.  Trevor moved to the Dept of Ophthalmology at the University of Auckland in 1998, where he now specialises in cornea with research interests varying from cell reprogramming, ocular stem cells and corneal engineering to the pathogenesis of corneal dystrophies.  Trevor has published over 70 papers in top ranking journals including the premier journals Nature, Science and Cell and has presented his work at many international venues including a prestigious open lecture at the Natural History Museum, London.  Trevor’s research has attracted over $ 4.5 million dollars in funding and has received over 2800 citations in the scientific literature.

Trevor also strives to maintain excellence in undergraduate and postgraduate teaching and focuses on the achievements of his research students who have gained high honours including ‘Best PhD thesis from the Faculty of Medical and Health Science’ ‘Vice-Chancellors Prize for Best Doctoral Thesis’, ‘Wallath Prize for Biomedical Science’, ‘HRC Career Development Award’ and the ‘Phyllis Paykel Memorial Scholarship’.

Trevor’s experience and expertise have been recognised by his appointment to the Northern X Regional Ethics Committee by the Minister of Health, his role as Basic Science Section Editor for Clinical and Experimental Ophthalmology, his invitation to serve on the Ophthalmic Research Institute of Australia (ORIA) research committee and his annual invitation to attend the meeting of the National Keratoconus Foundation (USA).

Return to About us » Our medical committee

Our Medical Committee
Dr Tim Angeli
Dr Julie Lim
Dr Vanessa Selak
Associate Professor Srdjan Vlajkovic
Dr Jane Alsweiler
Associate Professor Anthony Phillips
Associate Professor Michael Hay
Associate Professor Evelyn Sattlegger
Peter ThorneProfessor Peter Thorne
N DalbethProfessor Nicola Dalbeth