Our Trustees

Professor Peter Thorne

  • 04 Apr 2015
Peter Thorne

CNZM, BSc, DipSc, PhD

Prof Peter Thorne has a joint appointment in the Section of Audiology and Department of Physiology at the University of Auckland.  He is a Deputy Director of the University’s Centre for Brain Research and is on the Management Directorate of Brain Research New Zealand, a national Centre of Research Excellence.  He completed his PhD at the University of Auckland and post-doctoral studies at the University of Auckland and at the Kresge Hearing Research Institute, University of Michigan.  His research is in the area of sensory neurobiology particularly inner ear homeostasis and the influence of noise exposure and aging on hearing.  He is the Chairman of the National Foundation for the Deaf and is on the Board of the Deafness Research Foundation. In 2009, he was made a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit (CNZM) for services to audiology and auditory neuroscience.

Return to About us » Our trustees

Our Trustees
Nicola DalbethProfessor Nicola Dalbeth
Paul Glass
Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
Simon HallSimon Hall
Peter GoodfellowPeter Goodfellow
Bruce GoodfellowBruce Goodfellow
Christine DingChristine Ding
Noel DaviesNoel Davies
Peter BrowettProfessor Peter Browett
Paul KeelingPaul Keeling