Our Medical Committee

Associate Professor Michael Hay

  • 19 Dec 2016

BSc (Hons), PhD

Dr Michael Hay is an Associate Professor in the Auckland Cancer Society Research Centre in the School of Medical Sciences at the University of Auckland and an Associate Investigator with the Maurice Wilkins Centre for Molecular Biodiscovery. He received BSc (Hons) and PhD degrees in Organic Chemistry from the University of Canterbury and then undertook post-doctoral studies at Imperial College, London and the University of Auckland. Michael is a medicinal chemist with over twenty-five years’ experience in drug design and discovery. His current research interests focus on the design, synthesis and development of anti-tumour agents that target the tumour microenvironment. In particular, he has developed prodrugs activated under hypoxia to selectively deliver cytotoxins to tumours, explored synthetic lethal interactions with hypoxia-inducible factors and is interested in identifying new agents as radiosensitisers.

Return to About us » Our medical committee

Our Medical Committee
Dr Jane Alsweiler
Dr Justin Dean
Associate Professor Greg O'Grady
Associate Professor Anthony Phillips
Associate Professor Alan Davidson
Associate Professor Evelyn Sattlegger
Peter ThorneProfessor Peter Thorne
Trevor SherwinProfessor Trevor Sherwin
Sue McGlashanDr Sue R McGlashan
N DalbethProfessor Nicola Dalbeth